Jesus Listens October 16

My Creator,

As I grow increasingly aware of Your Presence, I find it easier to discern the way I should go. This is one of the practical benefits of living close to You, Lord. Instead of wondering what’s on the road ahead or worrying about what I should do if … or when . .., I can concentrate on staying in communication with You. Once I actually arrive at a choice-point, I can trust You to show me which direction I should go.

I confess that sometimes I get so preoccupied with future plans and decisions that I fail to see the choices I need to make now. Without really thinking, I just go through the day on auto-pilot. When I live this way for a while, dullness starts to creep into my life. I sleepwalk through my days, following well-worn paths of routine.

You, the Creator of the universe, are the most creative Being imaginable! I’m thankful that You don’t leave me circling in deeply rutted paths. Instead, You lead me along fresh trails of adventure, revealing to me things I did not know.

Help me stay in communication with You following Your guiding Presence.

In Your breathtaking Name, Jesus, Amen.

“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my eye upon you.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭32‬:‭8

“In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.”
‭‭Genesis‬ ‭1‬:‭1

“And the Lord will guide you continually and satisfy your desire in scorched places and make your bones strong; and you shall be like a watered garden, like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail.”
‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭58‬:‭11

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment