Jesus Listens September 16

Merciful Jesus,

When I’m going through a dark time an especially hard time- -it’s easy for me to project that darkness into the future.

The longer I struggle with adverse circumstances, the darker the way ahead looks and the harder it is for me to imagine myself walking along bright paths again. It’s so tempting to just give up and let misery become my companion. But I know that You are my constant Companion, Jesus. So help me cling to You, Lord, trusting that You are able to turn my darkness into Light.

Instead of focusing on the circumstances that are weighing me down, I need to look to You- remembering that You are continually with me. You hold me by my right hand, encouraging me to walk by faith through the darkness. Through eyes of faith, I can anticipate brighter times ahead and praise You for them. As I walk worshipfully with You through the darkness, You enable me to see the first gleam of dawn on the path before me. Please help me persevere along this path, trusting that the dim light will gradually shine brighter and brighter- -till the full light of day.

In Your spectacular Name, Amen.

“with the purified you show yourself pure; and with the crooked you make yourself seem tortuous.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭18‬:‭26

“Nevertheless, I am continually with you; you hold my right hand.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭73‬:‭23‬

“for we walk by faith, not by sight.”
‭‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭5‬:‭7

“But the path of the righteous is like the light of dawn, which shines brighter and brighter until full day.”
‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭4‬:‭18‬

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment