Jesus Listens September 17

Gracious God,

Your Word says I can cast my cares on You, and You will sustain me. Ive been carrying my own burdens, and it’s wearing me out! My shoulders aren’t strong enough to bear these heavy loads, so please help me to cast my burdens on You, Lord.

When I realize that something is weighing me down, I need to examine the problem to figure out whether it’s mine or someone else’s. If it isn’t mine, I can simply let go of it and leave it behind. If it is my problem, I’lI talk about it with You and ask You to show me how You want me to deal with it.

My usual tendency is to let worries weigh me down-becoming my focus. Please keep reminding me to bring my cares to You and leave them there. I know You can carry them on Your strong shoulders with ease. Handing my burdens over to You lightens my load and frees me to live in joyful dependence on You.

Lord, I’m encouraged by Your commitment to sustain me-to hold me up and provide what I need. I rejoice in Your promise to supply every need of mine according to Your riches in Glory!

In Your magnificent Name, Jesus, Amen.

“Cast your burden on the Lord, and he will sustain you; he will never permit the righteous to be moved.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭55‬:‭22‬

“For to us a child is born, to us a son is given; and the government shall be upon his shoulder, and his name shall be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.”
‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭9‬:‭6

“And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.”
‭‭Philippians‬ ‭4‬:‭19‬

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment