Jesus Listens September 20

Splendid Savior,

I come into Your Presence seeking rest. My mind needs a break from its habitual judging. I form judgments about this situation, that situation, this person, that person, even the weather–as if judging were my job description. But the Bible tells me that You created me first and foremost to know You and live in rich communion with You. When I become preoccupied with passing judgment, I usurp Your role. Help me turn away from this sinful attitude and keep turning toward You living in joyful awareness of Your loving Presence.

Teach me to relate to You as creature to Creator, sheep to Shepherd, subject to King, and clay to Potter. I want You to have Your way in my life more and more. Rather than evaluating Your ways with me, I need to accept them with trust and thankfulness. I realize that the intimacy You offer me is not an invitation to act as if I were Your equal. My heart’s desire is to worship You as King of kings while walking hand in hand with You along my life-path.

In Your glorious Name, Jesus, Amen.

““Judge not, that you be not judged.”
‭‭Matthew‬ ‭7‬:‭1‬

“And this is eternal life, that they know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you have sent.”
‭‭John‬ ‭17‬:‭3‬

“But who are you, O man, to answer back to God? Will what is molded say to its molder, “Why have you made me like this?” Has the potter no right over the clay, to make out of the same lump one vessel for honorable use and another for dishonorable use?”
‭‭Romans‬ ‭9‬:‭20‬-‭21

“On his robe and on his thigh he has a name written, King of kings and Lord of Lords.”
‭‭Revelation‬ ‭19‬:‭16‬

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment