Jesus Listens October 11

Beloved Jesus,

You’ve been training me to replace my “I have to” mentality with an “I get to” approach. I’ve found that this makes all the difference in my perspective transforming drudgery into delight. I realize this is not a magic trick; the work still has to be done. But this change in my viewpoint enables me to face the challenging chore joyfully and confidently.

When the task before me looks daunting, help me to view the challenge as a privilege rather than a burdensome duty.

I’m learning that perseverance is essential as I go about my work. If I start to grow weary or discouraged, I need to remind myself: “I get to do this!” I can thank You for giving me the strength and ability to do what needs to be done. Thankfulness clears my mind and draws me closer to You.

Please guide my mind as I’m thinking things out in Your Presence pondering problems and seeking solutions.

Whatever I do, I want to work at it with all my heart, as working for You.

In Your transforming Name, Amen.

“Continue steadfastly in prayer, being watchful in it with thanksgiving.”
‭‭Colossians‬ ‭4‬:‭2‬

“I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.”
‭‭Philippians‬ ‭4‬:‭12‬-‭13

“Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men,”
‭‭Colossians‬ ‭3‬:‭23‬

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment