Jesus Listens October 12

Jesus, my Treasure,

Teach me how to live more fully in the present refusing to worry about tomorrow. I really do want to live present tense in Your Presence, making You the main pursuit of my life. This is quite a struggle for me because planning and worrying come so naturally to me.

Please help me resist the temptation to worry. I live in such a fallen world-full of sin and struggles. I’m continually faced with things that can make me anxious if I let them. But Your Word tells me that each day has enough trouble of its own. You carefully calibrate the amount of difficulty I’ll encounter on a given day, and You know exactly how much I can handle.

Moreover, You are always near—ready to strengthen, encourage, and comfort me.

I’ve found that pursuing a close walk with You is the most effective way to live abundantly. I need to keep bringing my thoughts back to You whenever they wander. I can return to You joyfully, knowing that You take great delight in me and rejoice over me with singing.

In Your delightful Name, Amen.

““Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”
‭‭Matthew‬ ‭6‬:‭34‬

“fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”
‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭41‬:‭10‬

“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.”
‭‭John‬ ‭10‬:‭10

“The Lord your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing.”
‭‭Zephaniah‬ ‭3‬:‭17‬

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment