Jesus Listens October 14

Lord Jesus,

There’s a mighty battle going on for control of my mind.

Heaven and earth intersect in my brain; I can feel the influence of both realms tugging at my thoughts. Thank You, Lord, for creating me with the capacity to experience tiny foretastes of heaven. When I shut out distractions and focus on Your Presence, I can enjoy sitting with You in the heavenly realms. This is an incredible privilege reserved for those who belong to You and seek Your Face. You have instilled in me a strong desire to spend time communing with You. As I concentrate on You and Your Word, Your Spirit fills my mind with Life and Peace.

The world exerts a downward pull on my thoughts. Media bombard me with cynicism, lies, greed, and lust. Please give me discernment and protection when I’m facing these things.

I need to stay in communication with You whenever I walk through the wastelands of this world. Help me resist the temptation to worry- a form of worldliness that weighs me down and blocks awareness of Your Presence. And keep me alert to the battle that is continually being waged against my mind.

O Lord, how I look forward to an eternity of strife-free living in heaven!

In Your powerful Name, Amen.

“and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus,”
‭‭Ephesians‬ ‭2‬:‭6

“For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace.”
‭‭Romans‬ ‭8‬:‭6‬

“Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.”
‭‭1 Peter‬ ‭5‬:‭8

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment