Jesus Listens February 29

Gracious Lord,

Often I pray intensely for something and wait eagerly for the answer. If You grant my request, I respond joyfully and thankfully. But rather than lingering in a grateful attitude, I tend to move on too quickly to asking for the next thing. Lord, instead of experiencing only a short-lived burst of gratitude, I want to learn to remain in an attitude of thankful Joy letting my gratefulness spill over into the future.

Help me to train myself to remember Your gracious responses to my requests. I find it beneficial to tell others about blessings I’ve received from You. Another way of being mindful of answered prayer is to write down the answers someplace where I’ll see them frequently.

Please teach me to remember Your marvelous works with thankfulness. You’ve shown me that gratefulness blesses me doubly with joyful memories of answered prayer and with the pleasure of sharing my happiness with You!

In Your jubilant Name, Jesus, Amen.

“Let us come into his presence with thanksgiving; let us make a joyful noise to him with songs of praise!”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭95‬:‭2‬

“But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.”
‭‭1 Corinthians‬ ‭15‬:‭57‬

“And when David had finished offering the burnt offerings and the peace offerings, he blessed the people in the name of the Lord”
‭‭1 Chronicles‬ ‭16‬:‭2‬

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment