Jesus Listens November 21


Glorious God,

I offer You the sacrifice of thanksgiving I don’t want to take any of Your good gifts for granted- not even the rising of the sun. Thankfulness does not come naturally to me, but You’ve been training me to respond supernaturally.

Your Word teaches me how important it is to have a grateful attitude. Before the serpent tempted Eve in the Garden of Eden, thankfulness was a natural response. But the evil one’s temptation pointed her to the one thing that was forbidden. Though the garden was full of delicious fruits that were freely available, Eve focused on the one fruit that was off-limits. This negative focus darkened her mind, and she succumbed to temptation.

When I focus on things that I want, but can’t have, or on situations that displease me, my mind also becomes darkened. I take for granted life, salvation, sunshine, loved ones, and countless other gifts from You. I look for what is wrong and refuse to enjoy life until that situation is fixed. But when I approach You with thanksgiving, the Light of Your Presence pours into me transforming me in the depths of my being. Help me to walk in the Light with You, Lord-delighting in You and practicing the discipline of thanksgiving.

In Jesus’ wondrous Name, Amen

I will offer to you the sacrifice of thanksgiving and call on the name of the LORD.

Psalm 116:17

but God said, ‘You shall not eat of the fruit of the tree that is in the midst of the garden, neither shall you touch it, lest you die.’”

Genesis 3:6

But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin.

1 John 1:7

Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

Psalm 37:4

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

3 thoughts on “Jesus Listens November 21

Leave a comment