Jesus Listens September 24

Beloved Lord Jesus,

Please infuse Your Peace into my innermost being. As I sit quietly in the Light of Your Presence, I long to sense Your Peace growing within me. This isn’t something I can accomplish through self-discipline and willpower; it’s a matter of opening up myself to receive Your blessing.

In this age of independence, it’s countercultural as well as counterintuitive to acknowledge my neediness. However, You have taken me along a path that has highlighted my need for You placing me in situations where my strengths were irrelevant and my weaknesses were glaringly evident. Through the aridity of those desert marches, You drew me closer and closer to Yourself. Moreover, You provided lovely surprises in that sun-scorched land. I discovered plants of Peace blossoming in the most desolate places!

You’ve been teaching me to thank You for hard times and difficult journeys trusting that, through them, You accomplish Your best work. And I’m learning that needing You is the key to knowing You intimately, which is the gift above all gifts!

In Your incomparable Name, Amen.

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.”
‭‭John‬ ‭14‬:‭27

“And the Lord will guide you continually and satisfy your desire in scorched places and make your bones strong; and you shall be like a watered garden, like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail.”
‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭58‬:‭11

“giving thanks always and for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ,”
‭‭Ephesians‬ ‭5‬:‭20

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment