Jesus Listens September 25

Gentle Jesus,

I come wearily into Your Presence- feeling weighed down by yesterday’s failures. I wish I could undo my decisions that I now regret. However, I know that the past is beyond the realm of change and cannot be undone. Even You, though You live in timelessness, respect the boundaries of time that exist in this world. So I don’t want to waste energy bemoaning bad choices I have made. Instead, I ask You to forgive me and help me learn from my mistakes.

When I’m feeling weighed down by things I regret, it’s as if I’m dragging my failures around like heavy chains clamped to my ankles. At such times, I find it beneficial to picture You coming to my rescue and cutting off those chains. You came to set Your followers free, and I want to walk in the truth that I am free indeed!

Lord, I rejoice that You redeem my failures forgiving me and leading me along paths of newness. As I talk with You about my mistakes, I need to learn from You. Please show me the changes You want me to make and guide me along right paths.

In Your redeeming Name, Amen.

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.”
‭‭Matthew‬ ‭11‬:‭28‬-‭29‬

‬“So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.”
‭‭John‬ ‭8‬:‭36

“He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭23‬:‭3‬

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment