Jesus Listens September 26

Victorious Jesus,

Help me to welcome problems as perspective lifters. When things are going smoothly in my life, it’s easy for me to sleepwalk through my days–just following my routines. But if I bump into an obstacle that blocks my way, I suddenly wake up and become more attentive.

I’ve discovered that when I encounter a problem with no immediate solution, my response to that situation takes me either up or down. I can lash out at the difficulty-resenting it and feeling sorry for myself. But experience has taught me that this negative attitude will take me down into a pit of self-pity.

Instead of this hurtful response, I can view the problem as a ladder- enabling me to climb up and see my life from Your perspective. Looking down at the problem from this elevation, I’m able to see that the obstacle that stymied me is only a light and momentary trouble.

Once my perspective has been heightened, I’m free to look away from the difficulty and turn wholeheartedly to You. As I focus my attention on You, the Light of Your Presence shines upon me- blessing and refreshing me.

In Your radiant, refreshing Name, Amen.

“For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.”
‭‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭4‬:‭17‬-‭18‬

“Blessed are the people who know the festal shout, who walk, O Lord, in the light of your face,”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭89‬:‭15

“The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you;”
‭‭Numbers‬ ‭6‬:‭24‬-‭25‬

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment