Jesus Listens September 27

Loving Savior,

Help me to stop overthinking things obsessing about unimportant matters. When my mind is idle, I tend to go into planning mode, attempting to figure things out and make decisions before I really need to. I realize this is an ineffective way of trying to be in control; it’s also a waste of precious time. I often end up changing my mind anyway, or even forgetting what I decided. I know there is a time for planning, but it’s definitely not all the time- or even most of it.

I really want to live in the present, where Your beautiful Presence awaits me continually. As I refresh myself in Your nearness, Your Love soaks into my innermost being. I delight in relaxing with You–putting aside problems so I can be attentive to You and receptive to Your Love. My soul thirsts for You, but so often I don’t realize what I’m really longing for: awareness of Your Presence with me.

Lord, please lead me beside quiet waters and restore my soul.

Just as lovers can communicate deeply with very few words, so it is in my relationship with You- the Lover of my soul.

In Your tender Name, Jesus, Amen.

“that according to the riches of his glory he may grant you to be strengthened with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith—that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may have strength to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth,”
‭‭Ephesians‬ ‭3‬:‭16‬-‭18‬

“O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭63‬:‭1‬

“He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭23‬:‭2‬-‭3‬

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment