Jesus Listens September 28

Mighty God,

Your sovereign hand-_ -Your control over my life-has placed me in humbling circumstances. I feel held down, held back, and powerless to change things. Because this feels so uncomfortable, part of me longs to break free and regain some control. Yet I know that this humbling position is actually a good place for me to be. My discomfort awakens me from the slumber of routine and reminds me that You are in charge of my life.

The difficulties I face present me with a crucial choice. I can grumble about my troubles- resenting Your ways with me-or I can come closer to You. When I’m suffering, my need for closeness with You is greater than ever. The more I choose to draw near You, affirming my trust in You, the more I can find hope in Your unfailing Love. You are teaching me to be joyful in hope while waiting in Your Presence- -where Joy abounds!

Help me to persevere in trusting You, Lord, believing that You will lift me up in due time. Meanwhile, I’ll keep casting all my anxiety on You, knowing that You care for me affectionately and are watching over me continually.

In Your powerful Name, Jesus, Amen.

“Let your steadfast love, O Lord, be upon us, even as we hope in you.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭33‬:‭22‬

“Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.”
‭‭Romans‬ ‭12‬:‭12

“You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭16‬:‭11‬

“Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.”
‭‭1 Peter‬ ‭5‬:‭6‬-‭7‬

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment