Jesus Listens September 30

My Refuge,

You are worthy of all my confidence, all my trust! There are people and things that deserve some of my confidence and trust, but only You deserve all of it. In a world that seems increasingly unsafe and unpredictable, You are the Rock that provides a firm foundation for my life -my Rock in whom I take refuge.

Because You are my Refuge, my sense of security doesn’t rest in my circumstances. My natural inclination is to strive to be in control of my life, but You’re training me to relax in Your sovereign control. You are a well-proved help in trouble, and You’re always present with me. Please help me to face unwelcome changes and unnerving circumstances without fear.

Instead of letting anxious thoughts roam freely in my mind, I need to lasso them- -voicing my trust in You. When I bring those captive thoughts into Your Presence, You subdue them and give me Your Peace. As Your Word assures me, whoever trusts in You is kept safe.

In Your strong Name, Jesus, Amen.

“The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭18‬:‭2‬

“God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear though the earth gives way, though the mountains be moved into the heart of the sea,”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭46‬:‭1‬-‭2

“We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ,”
‭‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭10‬:‭5

“The fear of man lays a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord is safe.”
‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭29‬:‭25

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment