Jesus Listens October 19

Sovereign Lord,

You are my Strength! You enable me to go on the heights- -to wander with You in the Glory of Your Presence. I admit, though, that sometimes I feel as if I can barely take the next step on this long journey upward. As I look ahead, I see steep mountains that seem insurmountable. Yet I am always with You;

You hold me by my right hand. You guide me with Your counsel, helping me find the best way to scale those heights.

Although my journey with You is challenging even grueling at times- -it is much more than an endurance contest. The fact that You are with me can infuse Joy into the most arduous climb! So I’ll be on the lookout for all the pleasures You have prepared for me. Yet no matter what delights I discover, the greatest treasure is You, my beloved Companion.

I used to think that “the heights” referred to the very top of the mountain I’m climbing. But when I stop and look back at where my journey began, I can see how far up I’ve already come.

As I take time to relax and gaze lovingly at You, I sense the Glory of Your Presence all around me!

In Your glorious Name, Jesus, Amen.

“God, the Lord, is my strength; he makes my feet like the deer’s; he makes me tread on my high places. To the choirmaster: with stringed instruments.”
‭‭Habakkuk‬ ‭3‬:‭19

“Nevertheless, I am continually with you; you hold my right hand. You guide me with your counsel, and afterward you will receive me to glory.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭73‬:‭23‬-‭24

“He is the radiance of the glory of God and the exact imprint of his nature, and he upholds the universe by the word of his power. After making purification for sins, he sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high,”
‭‭Hebrews‬ ‭1‬:‭3‬

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment