Jesus Listens October 20

Merciful Jesus,

I want to make You the focal point of my search for secu-rity. In my private thoughts, I’ve been trying to order my world so that it’s predictable and feels safe. However, I realize this is an impossible goal; it’s also counterproductive to my spiritual growth.

Help me learn to rely on You more and more, especially when my private world feels unsteady. Instead of striving to regain control, I need to grip Your hand for support-living in conscious dependence on You.

I’ve been yearning for a problem-free life, but You’ve been showing me that trouble can highlight my awareness of Your Presence. In the darkness of adversity, the radiance of Your Face shines brightly beaming out encouragement and comfort.

Please enable me to view the problems in my life as benefi-cial, considering it pure joy whenever I face trials of many kinds.

No matter what is happening, I can always rejoice that I have an eternity of trouble-free living awaiting me in heaven!

In Your amazing Name, Amen.

“If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭139‬:‭9‬-‭10‬

“Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds,”
‭‭James‬ ‭1‬:‭2

“Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice.”
‭‭Philippians‬ ‭4‬:‭4‬

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment