Jesus Listens October 26

Gentle Jesus,

When things are not going my way, my natural tendency is to get flustered. Help me, instead, to stop what I’m doing and seek Your Face- spending a few moments enjoying Your Presence. As I talk with You about the matters that are frustrating me, You enable me to see things from Your perspective and sort out what is really important. Then You open up the way before me as I go forward in trusting dependence, staying in communication with You.

I confess that the culprit behind my frustration is my strong desire to be in control. I plan my day and expect others to behave in ways that don’t interfere with those plans. But I need to remember that You are in control and Your ways are higher than mine, as the heavens are higher than the earth. Rather than letting setbacks and interruptions upset me, I want to use them as reminders- that You are the sovereign God and I am Your beloved follower. Help me to trust in Your unfailing Love, gladly subordinating my plans to Your infinitely wise Master Plan.

In Your wondrous Name, Amen.

“You have said, “Seek my face.” My heart says to you, “Your face, Lord, do I seek.””
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭27‬:‭8

“For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”
‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭55‬:‭9‬

“This God—his way is perfect; the word of the Lord proves true; he is a shield for all those who take refuge in him.”
‭‭2 Samuel‬ ‭22‬:‭31

“But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭13‬:‭5

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment