Jesus Listens October 29

Worthy Jesus,

Help me to stay mindful of You as I go step by step through this day. Your Presence with me is a precious promise–and a comforting protection. After Your resurrection, You reassured Your followers, “Surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” That promise was for all Your followers- including me!

While journeying with You, I’ve seen that Your Presence is a powerful, essential protection. As I walk along my life-path, there are numerous pitfalls nearby. Just a few steps away from my true path are pits of self-pity and despair, plateaus of pride and self-will. Various voices compete for my attention–trying to entice me to go their way. If I take my eyes off of You and follow someone else’s path, I am in real danger. I realize that even good friends can lead me astray if I let them usurp Your place in my life.

Thank You for showing me that the way to stay on the path of Life is to keep my focus on You. Awareness of Your loving Presence both protects me and delights me!

In Your comforting, protecting Name, Amen.

“Teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.””
‭‭Matthew‬ ‭28‬:‭20

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us,”
‭‭Hebrews‬ ‭12‬:‭1

“You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭16‬:‭11

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment