Jesus Listens October 30

Compassionate Jesus,

You are the One who keeps me safe. My natural tendency is to rely heavily on my thinking and planning, as if that is where my security lies. When I start to feel anxious about something, my mind goes into overdrive-searching for solutions, seeking to feel secure. All the while You are with me, holding me by my right hand. Help me to remember and rely on Your continual Presence with me.

Instead of trusting in myself, which is foolish, I want to walk in wisdom and depend on You to keep me safe. You’re teaching me that biblical wisdom involves trusting in You more than in myself or other people. You are always ready to guide me with Your counsel, so I can bring all my concerns to You. Sometimes writing out my prayers clarifies my thinking, especially when I’m feeling confused.

Please show me the way forward as I wait in Your Presence–asking You to guide my mind while I focus on You and Your Word. Whispering “Jesus” is one way I stay focused on You. Your Name is a strong tower; when I run into it I am safe.

In Your strong Name, Amen.

“Nevertheless, I am continually with you; you hold my right hand.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭73‬:‭23

“Whoever trusts in his own mind is a fool, but he who walks in wisdom will be delivered.”
‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭28‬:‭26

“The name of the Lord is a strong tower; the righteous man runs into it and is safe.”
‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭18‬:‭10‬

Excerpt from Jesus Listens by Sarah Young

Leave a comment