Jesus Listens November 5

Almighty God,

Thelp me not to be overcome by evil but to overcome evil win. good. Sometimes I feel bombarded by all the bad things hap. pening in the world. News reports are alarming, and people are calling evil good and good evil. All of this can be overwhelming unless I stay in communication with You. It’s so comforting to know that You are not stunned by the horrors of this world that appall me. You have perfect understanding of the deceitful, desperately wicked condition of human hearts. Nothing takes

You by surprise!

Instead of being disheartened by the condition of this world, I long to be a light shining in the darkness. When evil appears to be winning, I need to be more determined than ever to accomplish something good! Sometimes this involves working directly against the bad things that are troubling me. At other times, just try to do whatever I can to promote true goodness according to my abilities and opportunities. Either way, I want to focus less on bemoaning evil circumstances and more on doing the good works that You prepared in advance for me to do.

In Your sovereign Name, Jesus, Amen.

“Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.”
‭Romans‬ ‭12‬:‭21‬

“Woe to those who call evil good and good evil, who put darkness for light and light for darkness, who put bitter for sweet and sweet for bitter!”
‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭5‬:‭20‬

“The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately sick; who can understand it? “I the Lord search the heart and test the mind, to give every man according to his ways, according to the fruit of his deeds.””
‭‭Jeremiah‬ ‭17‬:‭9‬-‭10‬

“For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.”
‭‭Ephesians‬ ‭2‬:‭10‬

Leave a comment